19 April 2024 Newest Phi Beta Kappa Members Inducted

Nearly 30 students join the nation’s oldest honor society celebrating excellence in the liberal arts and sciences.  

Twenty-eight HWS students were inducted into HWS’ Zeta chapter of Phi Beta Kappa on Wednesday, April 17. They join four students who were inducted into HWS’ Phi Beta Kappa chapter, Zeta of New York, as juniors in 2023.   

"I am so deeply impressed by each and every one of these newly elected Phi Beta Kappa members,” says Professor of Physics Donald Spector, president of the HWS Phi Beta Kappa chapter. “These are students who have not only sought out the breadth of academic opportunities at HWS, but who have also contributed in myriad ways to the intellectual life of the Colleges. It is a delight to be able to recognize them and their accomplishments."  

The annual Phi Beta Kappa event began with a reception in the Scandling Campus Center Common Room followed by a banquet and the induction ceremony. 

Zeta of New York, Hobart and William Smith’s local Phi Beta Kappa chapter, was established in 1871. It is the sixth oldest in New York, and one of the oldest in the country. Selected students must demonstrate excellent academic standing, breadth of academic studies and intellectual curiosity. 

Every year, Zeta inducts students into lifetime membership in PBK. To date, more than 1,000 HWS alums have been inducted to the Zeta Chapter of New York. Two dozen graduating seniors are typically elected each year, along with a handful of the most accomplished juniors. 

This year, 24 seniors have been elected to the society: Ashley Aronson, Isabella Babikian, Matthew Brown, Artem Buzoverya, Wesley Capitani, Alexandra Davidson, Brittany Foster, Sydney Foster, Kennedy Jones, Madeleine Meyer, Jackson Mischler, Caroline Payne, Dymtro Piskun, Kayla Powers, Isabella Renzi, Elisa Ribordy, Rodman Stout, Tanner Tattan, Tate Tower, Alaina Tremblay, Emma VanGorder, Elaina Wamhoff, Emilie Waters and Julyssa Winters. 

Four juniors were elected to the society: Sophia Mughal ’25, Elizabeth Palumbo ’25, Julia Pida ’25 and Shaan Vernenkar ’25. 

The students join four members of the Class of 2024 who were elected last year as juniors: Lillian Davis ’24, Tiffany Foster ’24, Tayla Rossi ’24 and Jesse Whelan-Small ’24.  

HWS’ Zeta chapter is supported by the Dr. Arnold N. Cohen ’71 and Dr. Colleen R. Carey Endowed Phi Beta Kappa Fund. This initiative was created by Zeta Chapter alumnus, Dr. Arnie Cohen, and his spouse, Dr. Colleen Carey, in honor of the chapter’s 150th anniversary in 2021.