3 May 2024 New Student Trustees Elected By Natalia St. Lawrence '16

Rex Eidlin ’26 and Hailey Galvan ’26 have been elected by their peers to serve as Junior Student Trustees.

Rex Eidlin ’26 and Hailey Galvan ’26 have been chosen by their peers to serve as members of the Hobart and William Smith Board of Trustees; as seniors they will have full voting rights. Through their posts, the pair will represent student voices and advocate for student interests related to the Colleges’ policies, financial health and overall welfare.

An economics major, Eidlin says he ran for the seat to facilitate meaningful change on campus. “I want to leave a lasting legacy of positive change during my time here and I want to focus on improving student wellness and creating spaces for different perspectives to come together,” he says.

On campus, Eidlin is a member of the HWS Alpine Ski team and serves as the team’s representative on the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, a leadership council dedicated to improving the student-athlete experience.

This year, Eidlin was a finalist in the Todd Feldman ’89 and Family Pitch Competition. Along with his business partner Saugat Raj Joshi ’25, Eidlin pitched EcoPack Bio Foam Roll, a biodegradable alternative packing solution. He is also a member of Kappa Sigma fraternity.

A sociology major and entrepreneurial studies and data analytics double minor, Galvan ran for the position in order to give back to her peers and work toward the betterment of campus climate.

During her campaign for the position, Galvan says she had many conversations with students. “I really want to work toward improving the experiences of students who told me about their challenges,” she says.

“I’m excited to serve students and to build connections between students and trustees that enhance opportunities for community engagement,” Galvan adds.

Galvan is the vice president of the Students for Humanitarian Justice club. Next year, she will serve as a first-year mentor in Professor of Sociology James Sutton’s “Recognizing Victims and Survivors” course. She also works in the William Smith Dean’s Office and will serve as the HWS PLEN chapter leader next year.