19 July 2023 • FacultySTEM Tenure and Faculty Promotions Awarded

Eleven faculty members were elevated to full professor while six others have been approved for tenure-track positions. Five retiring professors have been honored with emeritus status.

Hobart and William Smith Colleges Board of Trustees, upon the recommendation of President Mark D. Gearan, approved promotions for 17 faculty members and elevated five longtime HWS faculty as professors emeriti.

“As the Princeton Review noted earlier this year, our faculty rank consistently among the nation’s best, propelling our students and our academic excellence to new heights,” says Provost and Dean of Faculty Sarah Kirk. “I want to congratulate all the faculty that have earned tenure and promotion this year and thank those who have spent their careers at HWS guiding and challenging students.”

Effective July 1, Ted Allen (Physics), Karen Frost-Arnold (Philosophy), Kirin Makker (American Studies), Nick Metz (Geoscience), Stacey Philbrick Yadav (International Relations), Colby Ristow (History), Fernando Rodriguez-Mansilla (Spanish & Hispanic Studies), Jim Sutton (Sociology), Maggie Werner (Writing and Rhetoric), Chris Woodworth (Theatre) and Vikash Yadav (International Relations) now hold the title Professor.

For their long service on the faculty, the Board honored with emeritus status: Professor of Art and Architecture Michael Bogin, Professor of Biology David Droney, Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science David Eck, Professor of Asian Studies Chi-chiang Huang and Associate Professor of Art and Architecture Stanley Mathews.

Appointed to tenure-track roles as Assistant Professors are Elizabeth Belcher (Psychological Science), Jonathan Berhanu (Educational Studies), Matthew Church ’14 (Chemistry), Blaize Gervais (Religious Studies), Max Piersol ’16 (Art and Architecture) and Iskandar Zulkarnain (Media and Society).