PSS Winter '13


Athletics Milestones

by Paige Mullin

HWS Sailing

15th Anniversary as a Varsity Sport

  • 13 ICSA Coed Dinghy National Championship appearances
  • 8 ICSA Team Race Championships since 1999, finishing in the top six every time
  • 2 ICSA National Championships (2005 Team Race and Coed Dinghy titles)
  • 11 straight years competing in the women’s national championship event

William Smith Field Hockey

20th Anniversary of First NCAA Championship
The 1992 field hockey team posted program records for wins in a season (22) and winning percentage (.957). The Herons’ run to the national championship included a then-record 17 consecutive wins. William Smith played five straight one-goal matches to reach the national championship against two-time defending national champion Trenton State on the Lions’ home field. The Herons secured the national championship with a 1-0 victory. The team boasted National Coach of the Year, Sally Scatton, three All-Americans, and six all-region picks.

Hobart Soccer

20th Anniversary of First NCAA Bid
The 1992 soccer team finished the regular season with a perfect 15-0-0 record. Hobart earned eight shutouts in its undefeated season. The Statesmen, who finished the year ranked first in the nation and first in the Empire Athletic Association, earned an automatic bid to the NCAA tournament. Hobart faced RIT in their first round match and finished the game tied 1-1, however, RIT advanced on penalty kicks.

40th Anniversary of First ECAC Bid
The 1972 Hobart soccer team finished the regular season with a four-match win streak to secure the program’s first winning season since 1963. The Statesmen defeated Cortland 3-2 in its first ECAC tournament game, but fell to Binghamton in the championship. The Statesmen finished the year with a 9-5-1 overall record. Their nine victories were the most in Hobart soccer history at the time.

William Smith Lacrosse

40th Anniversary as a Varsity Sport Coached by Pat Genovese

  • 385-158-1 (.709) record
  • 29 winning seasons
  • 16 NCAA tournament bids
  • 11 trips to national semifinals
  • 5 NCAA Championship game appearances
  • 94 All-Americans, including seven National Players of the Year

Hobart Lacrosse

85th Anniversary of the start of Babe Kraus’ Coaching Career
One of the most beloved players and coaches in Hobart history, Babe Kraus ’24 holds the longest consecutive lacrosse coaching record in the nation (1927-66) and served as the Hobart Athletic Director from 1932-1963. Hobart’s Babe Kraus Award is given annually to the Division III Coach of the Year and the Babe Kraus Memorial Award is presented annually to the College’s Student-Athlete of the Year.

Hobart Hockey

50th Year of Hobart Hockey
From humble beginnings as a club team to today’s varsity Statesmen, Hobart hockey has grown into one of the top teams in the nation. Since the 1978-79 season, Hobart hockey has logged a 359-442-43 overall record. The Statesmen have won two ECAC West conference titles – one in the 2003-04 season and the second last year. Hobart has made four NCAA tournament appearances, advancing to the national semifinals in 2006 and 2009. The Hobart hockey team has achieved 10 consecutive winning seasons and five Statesmen have garnered All-American recognition.

William Smith Cross Country

20th Anniversary as a Varsity Sport
The William Smith cross country team has been named a U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association All-Academic Team every year of its existence. In 2011, the Herons had a team GPA of 3.77, which was the highest on the Division III list. In 2000, Amy Young ’03 became the only Heron cross country runner to earn All- America honors. Two William Smith runners, Emily D’Addario ’13 and Young, have competed in the NCAA Division III Women’s Cross Country Championship.


Preparing Students to Lead Lives of Consequence.