PSS Spring '11

Seneca Society Welcomes New Members

Members of the Seneca Society gather in New York City, including (stan ding, l to r) Takeshi UESHIMA, PRESIDENT Mark D. Gearan, Honorary Truste Charles Salisbury Jr. '63, P'94, L.H.D.'08, BOARD CHAIR Da vid Deming '75, John Ashton , Truste Langdon Cook P'99, P'05, James Caird '56, Truste Thomas Poole '61, P'91, L.H.D.'06, Edwar d Froel ich '55, Richard Abramson, VICE PRESIDENT FOR INSTITUTIONAL ADV ANCEMENT Robert O'Conor, (sitting, l to r) Makiko Tana ka L.H.D. '11, Truste Jane Napier P'89, Marylo uise Napier Zuzuna ga, Edith Salisbury , Patr icia Baron , Rita Ashton P'04, P'07, Lyn Cook P'99, P'05, Cynthia Caird, Mary Jane Poole P'91, Joanne Froel ich and BOARD VICE CHAIR Kather ine Elliott '66, L.H.D.'08.

On May 19, 2011, the members of the Seneca Society gathered in New York City for their third biennial welcome celebration for new members.

"When I look at the group gathered here this evening, I see the heart and soul of Hobart and William Smith," said David Deming '75, chair of the HWS Board of Trustees and himself a Seneca Society member. "We share a deep respect for the Colleges. Our past and future commitments will ensure that Hobart and William Smith are excellent well into the future."

New members of The Seneca Society include:

Langdon P. and Lyn G. Cook P'99, P'05 The Cooks came into the Hobart and William Smith family when two of their children graduated from Hobart: Whitney in 1999 and Freddy in 2005. Lang and Lyn have both been active participants on the Parents' Executive Committee, and Lang continues to serve on the Board of Trustees and the Campaign Steering Committee. Through a generous gift, The Cook Family Endowment has been established to help the Colleges inspire members of the Hobart and William Smith community to give back in even greater ways.

David F. '64 and Frances A. Eberhart After earning a degree in economics, David served on the Board of Trustees and has been a consistent champion of endowment support. In celebration of his 40th Reunion, he worked tirelessly to make the Classes of 1964 Endowed Chair–currently held by Professor of Art Elena Ciletti–the largest fund currently supporting an endowed professorship. The lasting legacy of the Eberharts will be their support of exceptional teaching at the Colleges.

Cynthia Gelsthorpe '82 and John F. Fish Since earning a B.A. in psychology, Cynthia has served as a role model for students and alums. A leader on campus, she has championed the William Smith Centennial Fund Committee as well as the Geneva Partnership. In 2008, Cynthia made the lead gift to renovate the Centennial Center for Leadership, the heart of leadership development programming on campus. Most recently, Cynthia has made a leadership gift in support of the Performing Arts Center.

Edward A. '55 and Joanne I. Froelich Eddie's love of Hobart Athletics while earning his degree in English led the couple to, years later, fund the Abraham Sports Medicine Room and Endowment as well as the Joe Abraham Prize in memory of Joe Abraham, former HWS athletic director. The Froelich Gatehouse, which welcomes fans to the Caird Center for Sports and Recreation, is named in honor of their commitment to the Colleges. Eddie and Joanne have continually supported scholarship funding including the Kathryn D. Cook Memorial Scholarship Fund. They have also established the Edward A. '55 and Joanne I. Froelich Endowed Scholarship Fund and are providing support for the creation of the Performing Arts Center.

Sheldon and Ruth Goldstein GP'04, GP'07 and Rita Goldstein Ashton P'04, P'07 Through the Ruth and Sheldon Goldstein Foundation, Ruth Goldstein has made gifts to the Colleges in honor of her granddaughters Rachel '04 and Sarah '07. The Goldstein Family Carriage House stands as a beautiful example of those gifts. Most recently, Rita Ashton, the Goldstein's daughter, has been instrumental in providing leadership support for the Performing Arts Center through the Ruth and Sheldon Goldstein Foundation.

John T. McCarthy '34* A physics major at HWS, McCarthy went on to earn his Ph.D. at Yale and spent the rest of his life teaching physics at Case Western Reserve and the University of Cincinnati. His son, Michael, left instructions in his will for the establishment of the John T. McCarthy '34 Memorial Endowed Scholarship Fund in honor of his father so that others will be able to take advantage of a Hobart and William Smith education.

George E. Paulsen '49* After serving in the U.S. Navy during World War II , Paulsen graduated from Hobart with a B.A. in history. He went on to earn his M.A. from Rutgers and a Ph.D. from Ohio State University. George taught courses in history and policy at Arizona State for more than 30 years. He established the George E. Paulsen '49 Endowed Scholarship Fund and, upon his death, the George E. Paulsen '49 Endowed Chair in American History and Government, currently held by Professor of History Clifton Hood.

Jane Shepard Ritter '48, L.H.D. '05* After earning her degree in religion, Ritter remained an active alumna, serving on the Alumnae Council and the Board of Trustees, where she helped to shape the future of the Colleges during a period of enormous growth. Jane supported many scholarship programs including Geneva Scholarship Associates and the Jane S. Ritter '48 Centennial Scholarship. Ritter's advocacy on behalf of the Wheeler Society and planned giving attests to the importance that one person can have in the history and growth of an institution.

Formed in 2006, the Seneca Society honors those whose philanthropy has remarkably altered the course of Hobart and William Smith history.

* deceased


Preparing Students to Lead Lives of Consequence.