Sports Updates

Herons LAX Ranked No. 1
US Lacrosse Magazine ranked William Smith lacrosse No. 1 in Division III on April 17, jumping two spots from its standing just a week earlier and a significant climb since the magazine ranked the Herons 18th in the nation during their preseason round-up.

William Smith broke the program wins in a season with a 13-4 victory over Rochester in the Liberty League Tournament semifinals and capture its fourth league championship with a 14-4 takedown of Skidmore. The Herons equaled the longest win streak in program history by opening NCAA tournament play with a 15-1 win over Westfield State, the team’s 16th straight victory.

Entering the second weekend of the NCAA tournament, William Smith led the nation in save percentage (.594), was second in win percentage (.950) and ranked third in scoring defense (4.30).

Senior midfielder Allie Flaherty and senior goalie Sarah Honan were both named Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association first team All-Americans. In addition, Flaherty was voted the Liberty League Player of the Year, Honan the Liberty League Defensive Player of the Year, and the Heron coaches the Liberty League Coaching Staff of the Year.

Statesmen secure NEC regular season title
The Hobart lacrosse team visited Robert Morris for its regular season finale with the NEC regular season title on the line. The Statesmen got off to a rocky start, falling into an 8-2 hole, but rallied to tie the game by halftime. Hobart scored five straight goals in the second half to take the lead and held on for an 18-17 triumph.

The Statesmen returned to the NEC Championship game for the third time in four years, but fell short of claiming its second straight title by a 5-4 count against Bryant. The NEC Player of the Year, Frank Brown ’17 led the offense with 32 goals and 50 points. With 120 career points, he ranks eighth among Division I Statesmen.

Arik Andreen ’17 and Jackson Brown ’17 lead on the defensive end. Andreen, an All-NEC second team pick, had a team-leading 24 caused turnovers this year and 61 for his career, breaking the career record set by Sean Regan ’13 (60). Jackson Brown ranks among the best goalie in Hobart’s Division I era. He has the most wins (25), is third in saves (537), fourth in GAA (10.04) and fifth in save percentage (.532).

America Trophy is HWS’ trophy
The sailing team won the America Trophy, the MAISA coed dinghy championship, by 29 points over Navy to secure a spot in the ICSA National Championship. It’s the program’s 17 MAISA Championship since 1996. Hector Guzman ’20, Maya Weber ’20 and Adam Schaefer ’17 teamed up to win B Division by 22 points over Georgetown. Greiner Hobbs ’18 and Anna Flaherty ’20 took second in A Division, trailing only the Midshipmen.

The Colleges’ sailors qualified for all three spring national championships—coed dinghy, women’s dinghy and team race— which will be held May 23 through June 2 in Charleston, S.C.

HWS sees plenty of gold at Liberty League Championships
For the 12th consecutive time, the Hobart rowing team pulled away from the competition at the Liberty League Championships. The varsity eight secured its 13th consecutive gold medal at the conference championships and the second varsity eight won gold for the seventh straight season.

William Smith’s hopes of a seventh consecutive league title came up short, but the Herons still returned from Saratoga Springs with four sets of medals. The second varsity eight, varsity four and novice eight all won gold, while the varsity eight earned a silver medal. The overall title is based on points system based on finish in the varsity eight and second varsity eight, weighted to favor a school’s finish in the varsity eight.

Tennis teams net championship berths
The Hobart and William Smith tennis teams both qualified for their respective Liberty League Championships. The Statesmen won nine straight matches before falling to nationally ranked Skidmore in the league title match. Hobart finished the year with a 15-5 record, the team’s best since 2011-12.

The Herons secured the fourth and final spot in the Liberty League Championship by winning its final three conference matches of the regular season. After falling to the nationally-ranked Thoroughbreds in the league semifinals, William Smith’s record stood at 11-8.

Heron Awards Banquet
At the William Smith Athletics Awards Banquet, All-American swimmer Caroline Conboy ’17 won the Winn-Seeley Award, All- American soccer forward Kara Shue ’17 earned the Marion Harrison Greene ’20 Award and basketball all-star Melanie Patterson ’17 took home the Cynthia Oyler ’93 Award. Click here for a complete recap of the night’s top awards.

Block H Awards Dinner A week after the Herons handed out their year-end awards, Hobart Athletics followed suit. All- American hockey defenseman Carl Belizaro ’17 was voted the Francis L. “Babe” Kraus ’24 Memorial Award winner. Lacrosse’s Frank Brown ’17 and hockey’s Bo Webster ’17 shared the William C. Stiles ’43 Memorial Award. The Hanna Award was presented to football and lacrosse standout Sean Cunningham ’17 and rower D. Griffin Marsh '17. Click here for more on Hobart’s top award winners.


Preparing Students to Lead Lives of Consequence.