Mentoring Students

New Deans Join HWS


The Deans of Hobart College and William Smith College
include (front): Interim Hobart Dean Khuram Hussain
and William Smith Dean Lisa Kaenzig P'22; (back),
Interim Assistant Dean Joseph Mink, Assistant Dean
Kelly Payne, Assistant Dean Lisa Salter and Assistant
Dean David Mapstone '93, P'21.

In service to the continued development of student success, the dean’s offices of Hobart College and William Smith College welcome four new administrators who offer academic guidance, mentorship and support for all HWS students.

In the William Smith Dean’s Office, Dean Lisa Kaenzig P’22 is joined by new Assistant Deans Kelly Payne and Lisa Salter. Following the retirement this spring of Hobart Dean Eugen Baer P’95, P’97 and with Rocco “Chip” Capraro returning to the faculty, Associate Professor of Education Khuram Hussain has been appointed Interim Hobart Dean. Serving with Dean Hussain are Assistant Dean David Mapstone ’93, P’21 and, new this year, Joseph Mink, originally a faculty member in political science who joins the office as Interim Assistant Dean.

“We are excited to welcome our new deans, who bring expertise, insight and leadership to help shape our community’s intellectual culture and enrich the student experience,” says Interim President Patrick A. McGuire L.H.D. ’12. “The dean’s offices play a crucial role in guiding our students to success, and our deans are extraordinary educators and scholars who share Hobart and William Smith’s deep belief that interdisciplinary learning bolstered by a strong system of support is key to student growth and achievement.”

To ensure continuity of student experience, assistant deans will now mentor specific classes throughout their four years on campus. “With this team of outstanding professionals whose strengths complement each other, we are looking forward to providing a continued high level of support for our students,” says William Smith Dean Lisa Kaenzig P’22. “We believe this new alignment of our deans will be valuable for student retention and success, and will foster relationships on campus and with families.”

Dean Hussain notes the importance of collaboration “with faculty and staff to advocate for our students’ development as scholars and engaged community members. Joe Mink brings his years of student-centered teaching to his work as dean of first years and juniors. David Mapstone’s 15 years in the office inform his new role as dean of sophomores and seniors.” Dean Hussain, who himself brings two decades of experience cultivating students’ intellectual and identity development, says that together the deans will “work to meet students where they are and provide what they need toward their next stage of development.”

Dean Kaenzig has more than 25 years of experience, including 16 years serving as a dean at William Smith. She earned her B.A. from Rutgers University, M.A. from George Washington University and Ph.D. from the College of William and Mary. At William Smith, she advises Hai Timiai and is the founder of the First Generation Initiative. She is the immediate past Chair of the Board of Directors for the Public Leadership Education Network, a national organization that prepares women for leadership in public policy.

Dean Payne joins the Colleges this year to guide the William Smith Classes of 2020 and 2022. With more than 10 years of experience in administrative and instructional roles in higher education, she has taught first-year seminars in the humanities, survey courses of American and African American literature, and professional development courses. She holds a B.A. from Saint Mary’s College and an M.A. and Ph.D. from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Dean Salter has served HWS for more than 10 years as a visiting faculty member in the first year seminar program and the Psychology and Religious Studies Departments. She works with William Smith students in the Classes of 2019 and 2021. She holds a B.A. from the College of William and Mary, an M.A. from Duke University, a Master of Social Work from the School of Social Work at the University at Buffalo and a Ph.D. from the University of Chicago.

Dean Hussain earned a B.A. cum laude from Oswego State University of New York; an M.A. and M.A.T. from Binghamton University; and a Ph.D. from Syracuse University in Cultural Foundations of Education. An expert on education policy, the history of education and black press history, Dean Hussain teaches courses that explore culturally responsive, community-oriented and democratic education. He joined the Colleges in 2008.

Dean Mapstone has served the Colleges for more than 15 years, and works with Hobart students in the Classes of 2019 and 2021. He earned a B.A. in psychology from Hobart and M.A. from the University of Rochester. The adviser of the Druid Society, he directs the first-year Learning Community Program, the Pre-Orientation Adventure Program, the Back on Track academic support program, and the Short-Term summer study abroad program in Wales.

Dean Mink, who joined the HWS faculty in 2011 as an assistant professor of political science, works with the Hobart Classes of 2020 and 2022. He holds a B.A. from the University of Denver and an M.A. and Ph.D. in political science from the University of Pennsylvania. In addition to courses in political science, he has taught American studies and first-year seminars at HWS.


Preparing Students to Lead Lives of Consequence.