William Smith Alumnae Association Leadership

We are the governing body of the William Smith Alumnae Association. The Alumnae Association includes every person who has attended William Smith and whose class has graduated. The Alumnae Association promotes the interests of William Smith and strengthens the bonds between the College and its alumnae.

If you have any questions, please contact:

Chevanne DeVaney '95, P'21, P'23

Chevanne DeVaney '95, P'21, P'23, Director of Alumni and Alumnae Relations
Office of Advancement
20 Seneca Street, Geneva, NY 14456
Phone: (315) 781-4069

Kira Cosentino Bennett '15
Alumnae Relations Administrative Assistant
(315) 781-3771

Executive Committee Members

Julie BazanJulie Bazan '93

Geneva, N.Y.

Julie Bazan joined Mann’s Jewelers as COO in 2018, working previously as the COO of Cobblestone Capital Advisors. Julie is also the Co-Owner of Luigi’s Old World Market & Café. Julie completed a master's program in liberal arts and earned a certificate of Executive Leadership from Cornell. She was nominated for the 2015 Athena Young Professional Award which recognizes emerging leaders who demonstrate excellence, creativity, and initiative in their business or profession. Julie is active in the Rochester professional community and is on the Board for the Women’s Foundation of Genesee Valley and the Greater Rochester Chamber of Commerce Women's Council.

As an alumna, Julie is a volunteer for Admissions, Career Services, and Regional Programming. She serves as a class agent and has held several Alumnae Association leadership roles including Chair of the Distinguished Faculty Award Committee and Executive Committee Member-at-Large. She is a committed member of the Emerson, Wheeler and Heron Societies. As a student athlete, Julie majored in Philosophy and Rhetoric, minored in Education, and played field hockey.

Kirra Henick-Kling Guard Kirra Henick-Kling Guard '08, MAT'09
Vice President

Geneva, N.Y.

Kirra joined the Victor Central School District as the school psychologist in 2017. Prior to moving back to Geneva, Kirra got her Ph.D in Psychology at Lehigh University in Bethlehem, P.A. while working as a Research Assistant. While at William Smith she made the Deans list, was a member of Phi Beta Kappa, Eta Sigma Phi, and the Social Justice Collective. Kirra was also the President of the William Smith Honors house.

As an alumna, Kirra is a volunteer for Admissions, Career Services, and Regional Programming. She serves as a GOLD class agent and has held other Alumnae Association leadership roles including Chair of the Honors Committee.

Carla A. DeLucia '05

Rochester, N.Y.

Jane M. Erickson '07,
Immediate Past President

Fayetteville, N.Y.

Jane Erickson currently works as a Project Director at the Rippel Foundation, a “think-and-do” tank focused on bridging health and health care across the U.S. Previously Jane led the grants and contracts department with the Clinton Foundation. She completed her joint Masters in Public Administration and International Relations, along with a Certificate of Advanced Study in Public Health at the Maxwell School of Syracuse University.

Jane spent a year in Indonesia as a Fulbright Scholar after graduating. While at William Smith she played lacrosse for the Herons, was a recipient of the Salisbury Summer Internship Award, and double majored in public policy and political science. Jane also founded and led HWS Votes while at the Colleges. She lives in Fayetteville N.Y. with her husband Paul Wasmund ’07 and their daughter Elizabeth.

Executive Committee Members at Large

Xiomara Hall '96
Shavonne Ward '09
Cameron w. Gaynor '14


Association Trustee
Aloysee Heredia Jarmoszuk '98

Afro-Latino Alumni/Alumnae Assoc.

Alumnae Student Relations
Amanda Shaw '11

Class Correspondent Chair

Heron Society
Caroline Wenzel '05

Career Services

Student Representative
Nuzhat Wanid '22

Association Committees

Honors Committee

Sally Webster '74
Kelly Biggs '11
Tatiana Soto '15

Heritage Committee

Lynne Friedlander '80, P'10
Jennifer Casey '90
Amanda Shaw '11, Chair
Joanna Vinick '11

Alumnae Ambassador Committee

Julie Zappia McLean '98, Chair

Distinguished Faculty Award (joint w/Hobart)

Joshua Leach '01, Chair
Roxanne Jackson '81

Alumnae Association Board

Past Presidents

Katharyn Schofield Martens '46 (1961-64)
Atlanta, Ga.

Nancy Stone Wilson '50 (1967-72)
Orchard Park, N.Y.

Susan Connolly Eckert '70 (1978-80)
Lancaster, Pa.

Holly S. Evans '71 (1983-84)
Copenhagen, N.Y.

Stephanie Shires Hooper '65 (1984-86)
Harvard, Mass.

Carol Davidson Gottliebsen '75 (1986-88)
Ann Arbor, Mich.

Lindley E. Doran '69 (1988-90)
Houston, Texas

Rebecca Tracy Boyle '81 (1990-92)
Hamburg, N.Y.

Susan Albert '75 (1992-94)
Geneva, N.Y.

D-L Kenney Casson '70 (1994-95)
Wilmington, Del.

Liza Pille Speacht '80 (1995-96)
San Diego, Calif.

Susan Rock Tully '88 (1996-98)
Arlington, Mass.

Carol Brotman White '76 (1998-2000)
Silver Spring, Md.

Nancy Nowak Rutherford '71 (2000-2002)
Rochester, N.Y.

Sandra A. Rivera '85 (2002-2004)
Washington, D.C.

Melanie Sage '95 (2004-2006)
South Hadley, Mass.

Susan Lloyd Yolen '72 (2006-2008)
New Haven, Conn.

Kate R. MacKinnon '77 (2008-2010)
Brooklyn, N.Y.

Susan Flanders Cushman '98 (2010-2012)
Honeoye Falls, N.Y.

Chrissy Bennett West '94 (2012-2014)
Geneva, N.Y.

Aloysee Heredia Jarmoszuk '98 (2014-2016)
New York, N.Y.


Preparing Students to Lead Lives of Consequence.