Hobart Alumni Association Leadership

We are the governing body of the Hobart Alumni Association, which includes every person who has attended Hobart and whose class has graduated. The first alumni group, The House of Convocation, was founded at Hobart College in 1848. Today, just as then, the Alumni Association promotes the interests and heritage of Hobart College and strengthens the bonds between the College and its alumni.

If you have any questions, please contact:

Jared Weeden '91, Assistant Vice President for Advancement – Alumni Relations and Annual Giving
Office of Advancement
20 Seneca Street
Geneva, NY 14456
Phone: (315) 781-3700
Fax: (315) 781-3767

Executive Committee Members

Jeremy T. Cushman '96, President

Honeoye Falls, N.Y.

Jeremy Cushman graduated from Hobart in 1996 with a B.S. in biology and biochemistry. While at Hobart, Jeremy was a resident advisor for Jackson Hall and assistant area coordinator for the Quad, was a student athletic trainer, served as a Student Trustee, and was inducted into the Druid Society. After working in emergency medical services after graduation, Jeremy received his M.D. from the University of Maryland, and then stayed there to complete his residency in emergency medicine. He then went on to receive his M.S. in emergency health services from the University of Maryland Baltimore County, and completed a fellowship in emergency medical services at the University of Maryland Medical Center.

Jeremy is an associate professor of emergency medicine at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry where he practices as a board certified emergency physician. His primary responsibility, however, is as the medical director for Monroe County and the City of Rochester where he oversees the regional emergency medical services system.

Jeremy lives in Honeoye Falls, N.Y. with his wife, William Smith alumna Susan Flanders Cushman, M.S., Ph.D. ’98 who works at the Colleges as the director of introductory biology laboratories and research scientist for the Finger Lakes Institute. They have two young boys, Riley and Thomas.

James (J.B.) Robinson '96, Past President

Wayne, Pa.

J.B. Robinson graduated from Hobart in 1996 with a B.A. in political science. While at Hobart, J.B. was involved in student government, was a tour guide for the admissions office, was a member of the Hobart crew, and was inducted into the Druid Society. After graduation, J.B. earned a J.D. from the Indiana University School of Law and, later, an LL.M. in Taxation from the Boston University School of Law.

J.B. works as a tax attorney, focusing in the areas of executive compensation and benefits. After starting his career with Deloitte & Touche LLP in Boston, Mass., J.B. later transferred to the firm's Philadelphia, Pa., office. In 2007, J.B. joined Tyco Electronics -- a publicly traded, multi-national provider of engineered electronic components -- as a Senior Director of Tax and Legislative Affairs. In this role, J.B. continues to focus on compensation and benefits tax issues.

J.B. lives Wayne, Pa., with his wife Elizabeth and their two children, Lily and Benjamin.

Frank Aloise '87, Vice President

Philadelphia, Pa.

Frank Aloise '87 graduated from Hobart with a B.A. in mathematics and a minor in art history. As a student, Frank served as head resident advisor and was instrumental in founding The Cellar, a student run café in the basement of Coxe Hall. He also worked in Career Counseling and as a teaching assistant for the math department.

Having participated in the student phonathon program and having received the Hobart College Service Award when he was a student, it’s not surprising that Frank went on to become an active volunteer after leaving Geneva. In addition to his consistent and generous giving history, Frank has been both Social Chair and Giving Chair for class reunions, a class agent, and a member of the admissions and career services volunteer networks. Most recently, Frank has served on the Alumni Council’s Executive Committee as a Member-at-Large and as the Annual Fund Delegate.

Frank began his professional career with O’Connor and Associates in Chicago. He later moved to Switzerland with SBC and ultimately found his way to Wall Street. In 1997, Frank entered the field of independent school financial administration and now serves as Chief Financial Officer of Springside Chestnut Hill Academy. He has served as Chair for several organizations including PAISBOA, the Philadelphia Area Independent School Business Officers Association Board, the National Business Officers Association and TIAA-Cref’s Direct Client Advisory Council.

Frank lives in Philadelphia with his wife Sarah Strachan Aloise ’88, a pediatric nurse practitioner and accomplished eight-time Ironwoman. Frank and Sarah have two daughters who attend Springside Chestnut Hill. When Frank is not working or volunteering, he spends time in the Adirondacks kayaking and hiking, with plans to climb all 46 high peaks with his family.

Derrick F. Moore '05, Historian

New York, N.Y.


Other Members

Executive Committee Members at Large

James C. Baker '96
Winter Park, Fla.

Richard S. Solomon ’75
Warwick, R.I.

Alumni Association Trustees

Edward R. Cooper '86, P'16, P'19
Potomac, Md.

James (J.B.) Robinson '96
Wayne, Pa.

Alumni Association Past Presidents

1922-1925 The Rev. George F. Taylor '04
1926-1930 Howard Van R. Palmer '03
1931-1932 The Rev. Guy E. Shipler '06
1932-1935 D. Max Henry '17
1935-1938 Dr. Robert E. Doran '22
1938-1941 Joseph J. Myler '19
1941-1943 Harold C. Bailey '22
1944-1947 William E. Lytle '26
1947-1949 Thomas Brown IV '29
1949-1950 Dr. Robert E. Doran '22
1950-1951 George E. Wasey '33
1951-1952 Sherman F. Babcock '34
1952-1954 Donald W. Goode '38
1954-1956 Dr. Lynn Rumbold '20
1956-1958 Dr. Augustus H. Hillman '25
1958-1960 Ralph E. Springstead '47
1960-1962 Dr. B. Edmond Thomas '30
1962-1964 Donald R. Harter '39
1964-1966 James W. Bampton '32
1966 Ralph H. Engert '27
1967-1969 Myron V. Jacobs '37
1969-1971 Richard W. Morris Jr. '47
1972-1973 Roy Dexheimer Jr. '55
1973-1975 Walter V. Ferris '52
1975-1977 Thomas K. Hadlock '64
1977-1979 Robert C. Coleman '50
1979-1980 David E. Jeffery '52
1980-1982 William A. Mogel '63
1982-1984 Dr. Kenneth H. Spitzer '55
1984-1986 R. M. Peter Harter '68
1986-1988 Stephen C. Johansen '64
1988-1990 Mitchell N. Schear '80
1990-1991 Robert S. V. Platten '68
1991-1992 Robert E. Kandel '65
1992-1993 Roland J. Misarti '71
1993-1994 Paul F. Colarulli '72
1994-1996 Leslie J. Stark '59
1996-1997 Louis R. Pettinelli III '85
1997-1998 Timothy J. Shea II '84
1998-1999 Michael A. Acquilano '90
1999-2000 Arthur R. Medici '71
2000-2002 Dr. Richard L. Wasserman '70
2002-2004 Stephen L. Cohen '67
2004-2006 Charles A. Ramsay '92
2006-2008 Joseph C. Tully '88
2008-2010 Robert H. Gilman '70
2010-2012 Edward R. Cooper '86
2012-2014 James Robinson '96 (Immediate Past President)