Hai Timiai

Hai Timiai is the William Smith Senior Honor Society. The society was founded in 1953, and its name is the Greek for “Honored Women.” They are a small group chosen by their members and the Deans to represent the many outstanding young women studying at William Smith. Entering the society is not a prize for winning a contest. It is not an end, but a beginning. Hai Timiai members are deserving of this honor due to their past commitment to the welfare of William Smith College and the larger community, through tradition and innovation. Membership signifies ongoing individual and group contributions.

2015-16 Members:

Hannah Connolly
Kelly Craig
Virginia DeWees
Joy Gitter
Michelle Gomez
Sophie Halter
Colleen Moore
Nicole O’Connell
Afrika Owes
Dana Williams


Laurel Society

The Laurel Society is the sophomore and junior honor society for William Smith College. The members of the Laurel Society are a diverse group of young women, actively involved in their community and committed to academic excellence. Through their positive actions as role models and mentors, and their active participation and representation in all areas of Hobart and William Smith community, the Laurels demonstrate their commitment to William Smith College and to improving the lives of all William Smith Women.

2015-16 Members:

Lucia Cardone
Cecelia Carsky-Bush
Matalin Carville
Chalwyn Caulker
Ingrid Dehler-Seter
Cinderella Famutimi
Teaganne Finn
Jerlin Garo
Victoria Haynes
Elizabeth Herbst
Haley Jackson
Lanlan Lin
Caitlin Petty
Katherine Pinkes
Gail Andeza Quintos
Taylor Rugg
Adriana Ureña
Gabrielle von Bradsky
Karly Wagner
Alison Ware



Members for both honor societies are selected based on their scholarship, leadership, character and service.

Typically, they are women who have made a strong commitment to William Smith College and have helped to create a sense of community among the women of the community.

For more information about joining the societies, contact the William Smith Dean’s Office at (315) 781-3467 or at wsdeansmail@hws.edu



Hobart and William Smith Colleges,
Geneva, NY 14456
(315) 781-3000

Contact the Colleges


Offices and Resources
Campus Directory

make a gift

Preparing Students to Lead Lives of Consequence.