E. J. Dionne

Washington Post Opinion Writer E. J. Dionne engaged the campus in a discussion on national politics as well as the current state of journalism during a President's Forum guest lecture on Thursday, April 26 at 7:30 p.m.

Dionne writes a twice-weekly opinion column for the Washington Post and is a regular contributor for the paper's PostPartisan blog. In addition to serving as a government professor at Georgetown University, he is also a senior fellow in governance studies at the Brookings Institution. As a political commentator, Dionne has been featured on numerous National Public Radio programs, ABC's "This Week" and NBC's "Meet the Press."

Prior to joining The Post in 1990, Dionne served as a political reporter for the New York Times. During his 14 years with the Times, he reported from Albany and Washington, as well as Beirut, Paris and Rome. In 1996, Dionne was named the recipient of the American Political Science Association's annual Carey McWilliams Award to honor a major journalistic contribution to the understanding of politics. In 1997, the National Journal listed Dionne as one of the 25 most influential Washington journalists.

A prolific writer, Dionne has also authored four novels, "Souled Out: Reclaiming Faith & Politics After the Religious Right," "Stand Up Fight Back: Republican Toughs, Democratic Wimps, and the Politics of Revenge," "They Only Look Dead: Why Progressives Will Dominate The Next Political Era," and Los Angeles Times Book Prize winner and National Book Award nominee, "Why Americans Hate Politics."

Dionne received his B.A. from Harvard University in 1973 and his PhD. from Balliol College, Oxford, in 1982, where he was a Rhodes Scholar.


Fall 2015

Spring 2015

Fall 2014

Spring 2014

Fall 2013

Spring 2013

Fall 2012

Spring 2012

Fall 2011

Spring 2011

Fall 2010

Spring 2010

Fall 2009

Spring 2009

Fall 2008

Spring 2008

Fall 2007

Spring 2007

Fall 2006

Spring 2006

Fall 2005

Spring 2005

Fall 2004

Spring 2004

Fall 2003 

Spring 2003

Fall 2002

Spring 2002

Fall 2001

Past Speakers