What steps might I take in anticipation of the end-of-semester read-only state for course sites?
When an academic term ends in the Canvas system, your course site will become inactive or read-only. Course sites revert to a read-only state on August 15 and January 15. Faculty will maintain full access to their course sites after an academic term ends and the course becomes read-only.
Students will maintain some access to course materials but will not be able to actively participate in the course such as uploading to posted assignments or access to quiz answers. Should faculty choose to do so, there are numerous ways to limit the availability of content or tools to the students (see bullets below). In addition, inactive courses will no longer appear on your immediate course list but can be accessed (in their entirety) by selecting "view all courses".
Please contact the Digital Learning Center at ext. 4420 or firstname.lastname@example.org
for assistance on any of the above processes.