Annual Finger Lakes Research Conference

Dr. Brita Lorentzen of Cornell University presents a lecture at the
2010 Annual Finger Lakes Research Conference.

7th Annual Finger Lakes Research Conference

Saturday, November 19, 2011, Vandervort Room

The Finger Lakes Institute hosted its 7th Annual Finger Lakes Research Conference, with more than 60 attendees interested in learning about the ongoing scientific investigations of the Finger Lakes region. The agenda included nine oral presenters and 13 poster presentations with representation from more than 10 colleges and universities, including Rochester Institute of Technology, Finger Lakes Community College (FLCC), Cornell University, SUNY Brockport, Elmira College, Hobart and William Smith Colleges, SUNY Oneonta, SUNY Binghamton, Cayuga Community College, Wells College and Alfred University.

The keynote address, provided by videographer David Owen Brown, emphasized the possibilities of using multimedia to extend research analysis and offer alternative methods of explaining findings and educating the public. In addition to specific times set aside for networking and interacting with presenters, the Finger Lakes Institute coordinated a panel discussion with Bruce Gilman, director of Muller Field Station and professor of environmental conservation at FLCC, Meghan Brown, assistant professor of biology at HWS, and Roxanna Johnston, of the City of Ithaca, to discuss management of invasive species and how to prioritize research and education efforts in the Finger Lakes region. Read more >>

Past Conference Agendas and Abstracts

Click on a year to view the presentations and posters.

Student Award Winners

A $100 cash award honors the best student (undergraduate or graduate student) oral and poster presentation.

  • 2011 - Eleanor Milano, Hobart and William Smith Colleges (Best Oral Presentation); Alyssa Johnson, Finger Lakes Community College (Best Poster Presentation)
  • 2010 - Jessica Wuerstle, Buffalo State College
  • 2009 - Samuel Georgian, Hobart and William Smith Colleges
  • 2008 - Isabel Olson, Hobart and William Smith Colleges
  • 2007 - Melissa Balk, Hobart and William Smith Colleges
  • 2006 - Carlos Rymer, Cornell University
  • 2005 - Matthew Beckwith, Keuka College

More Info

Phone: (315) 781-4390

E-Mail: fli@hws.edu


Join Our Mailing List