Liberty League Champions, NCAA Bids

Posted on Monday, November 05, 2012

The William Smith field hockey and soccer teams won Liberty League titles this weekend while the undefeated Hobart College football team clinched at least a share of the Liberty League Championship. The victories earn all teams an NCAA bid.

The Herons field hockey team captured its 10th Liberty League Championship, defeating the 19th-ranked University of Rochester 3-1 on McCooey Field. Senior Annie Kietzman scored the game-winning goal and was named Tournament MVP.  In addition to the championship, William Smith field hockey earns an automatic bid into the 24-team NCAA Division III Field Hockey Championship. The Herons face No. 10 Tufts University on McCooey Field on Saturday, Nov. 10 at 11 a.m.

In the match played on Cozzens Field, the William Smith soccer team won its sixth straight Liberty League Tournament Championship with a 3-2 victory over Union. Senior Whitney Frary, the tournament MVP, netted the game-winner for William Smith in the 76th minute of play. In addition to the championship, the William Smith soccer team earns an automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Women's Soccer Championship. The Herons will take on Penn State-Behrend on Cozzens Field on Saturday, Nov. 10 at 11 a.m.

The Hobart College football team scored touchdowns on five consecutive possessions en route to a 34-14 victory at St. Lawrence to clinch at least a share of the Liberty League Championship. Their victory earned them the league's automatic bid to the NCAA Playoffs. The Statesmen improved to 9-0 for the first time in program history.

Hobart was led by quarterback Nick Strang, who was 15-of-18 passing for 233 yards and three touchdowns. The football team will close out the regular season on Saturday, Nov. 10 when the Statesmen battle Rochester for the Centennial Cup. Kickoff at Boswell Field is scheduled for 12:05 p.m.

For information, visit




Save and Share Article

To send feedback or make a suggestion for a future article, contact