DFA logo

Join us Reunion Weekend as we celebrate the 2018 Distinguished Faculty Award recipients:

Ciletti and McGuire

Elena Ciletti, Professor Emerita of Art History (1973-2013)
Interim President Patrick A. McGuire L.H.D. '12, Professor Emeritus of Economics (1968–2013)

Friday, June 1, 2018
11:30 a.m. - 12:50 p.m.
Lunch and Award Ceremony
Vandervort Room, 2nd Floor, Scandling Campus Center

We are assembling books of reflections from former students, faculty, friends and family about this year's DFA recipients. The books will be presented during the Award Ceremony. If you would like to include your reflections, please submit using the button below. The deadline for submissions is Tuesday, May 29.

The Award

The Distinguished Faculty Award was established in 1990 by the Hobart Alumni Association and the William Smith Alumnae Association. This joint award of the Associations recognizes the importance that graduates of these Colleges place on the contributions of outstanding faculty members of the past – for their impact as teachers, mentors and scholars. Nominations for the award are sought by all alumni and alumnae and are professors who are retired or have moved on from Hobart and William Smith for more than five years or are deceased.

One of the original Committee members noted, "It is our way of recognizing and honoring those who were our mentors, who molded us and nurtured us during our intellectual awakening, who taught us our limits and challenged our capabilities, and who inspired the best in us. More than anything else during our college years, outstanding teachers made the experience so valuable, and we recognize these professors as worthy of particular distinction and honor."

"The impact that professors have on their students can last a lifetime. They have a gift to inspire, challenge and engage with their students," says Director of Alumnae Relations Kathy Killius Regan '82, P'13. "Selected with great care and consideration, these faculty members will be remembered for their teaching as well as their scholarly achievements. All have left distinct marks on HWS, and their legacies still influence those who had the good fortune to study with them."

The Distinguished Faculty Award Committee

Andreanna Doering '84, co-chair
Todd Meck '72, co-chair
Lisa Delucia Bruno '04
Joshua Leach '01
Roxanne Jackson '81
Warren Zola '89, P'18


Preparing Students to Lead Lives of Consequence.