The overall administration of the Colleges is directed by the Senior Staff, which is comprised of the senior directors in each administrative area of the Colleges.

Members of Senior Staff include:

Lesley Adams


The Rev. Lesley Adams has been with the Colleges since 1995, previously serving as the Dean of Students at Colgate Rochester Divinity School. She also served as the Registrar, Director of Financial Aid, Director of Field Education Program, Director of the Doctor of Ministry Program, and Director of the Women’s Studies Program at various points during her tenure at CRDS. Adams is a graduate of Smith College and received her Master of Divinity degree from The Divinity School of Harvard University.

Phone: 781-3671
Office: St. John's Chapel

Eugen Baer

Dean of Hobart College

A member of the philosophy department since 1971, Dean Baer was named dean of Hobart College in 2006. He holds a doctorate in philosophy from Yale University, a licentia in theology from the University of Freiburg, Switzerland; and a biblical baccalaureate from the Pontifical Biblical Institute in Rome.

Phone: 781-3300
Office: Smith Hall, 1st Floor

Sandra Bissell

Vice President for Human Resources

Bissell has been the Director of Human Resources since February 2005, previously serving as Vice President of Human Resources at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts for 18 years. She is the current Chair of the Board of Driectors of the Smith Center for the Arts in Geneva. Bissell holds a bachelor's degree in public management from the University of Maine at Orono.

Phone: 781-3313
Office: Coxe Hall, 1st Floor

Fred Damiano

Vice President of Strategic Initiatives and Chief Information Officer

Damiano was named chief information officer in January 2004. Prior to joining the Colleges, he held senior leadership and management technology positions at Xerox, McDonnell Douglas Space Systems, and Travelers Insurance. He has been an adjunct lecturer in the MBA program at the Simon School of Business at the University of Rochester, and holds a bachelor's in computer information systems from Bentley University and an M.B.A. from the University of Central Florida.

Phone: 781-3066
Office: Williams Hall, 1st Floor

Robb Flowers

Vice President for Student Affairs

Flowers was named vice president of student affairs in August 2008, formerly serving as associate dean of students and director of residential education since 2004. Flowers oversees the counseling center, health center, office of student activities, residential education program, radio station, intercultural affairs, alcohol and other drugs education program, campus safety and Hobart and William Smith athletic programs. He holds a bachelor's degree from Houghton College, a master's in education from Alfred University and a law degree from the University at Buffalo Law School. He previously held administrative positions at Colgate University, College of the Holy Cross and Alfred University.

Phone: 781-3900
Office: Smith Hall, 1st Floor

Michael Hoepp

Assistant to the President and Chief of Staff

Hoepp was named Assistant Secretary to the Board of Trustees in August 2009 and previously worked in the Office of Residential Education as Assistant Director for Campus and Community Relations. He also served as the Hobart Assistant Rowing Coach. He graduated from Hobart College in 2005 with a B.S. in biology.

Phone: 781-3065
Office: Coxe Hall, 2nd Floor

Bob Murphy

Vice President for Enrollment and Admissions, Dean of the Salisbury Center for Career Services and Professional Development

Murphy joined the Colleges in 2004 as Director of Career Services and left in 2009 to take a position at Carnegie Mellon University. He returned shortly thereafter to become Vice President of Enrollment and Admissions, Dean of the Salisbury Center for Career Services and Professional Development. Murphy received his B.S. in education from Norwich University and a M.Ed. in rehabilitation counseling and a C.A.S. in student personnel administration at Springfield College.

Phone: 781-3472
Office: Admissions House, Lake Level

Susanne McNally

Dean of William Smith College

Professor of History Susanne McNally currently serves as Dean of William Smith College. During a 39-year career at HWS, she has served in the Provost's Office, on the Committee on Standards and the Committee on Academic Affairs. She has led semesters abroad in China, Russia and Ireland, and was a member of the planning team that created theme housing, now a signature residence option at the Colleges. A true proponent of the interdisciplinary tradition of HWS, she has taught courses across a broad range of interdisciplinary programs, among them Women's Studies, Russian Area Studies, Asian Studies and Environmental Studies. She is especially committed to connecting a liberal arts education to pressing local and global issues related to hunger and food.

Phone: 781-3585
Office: Smith Hall, 1st Floor

Robert O'Connor

Vice President for Advancement

O'Connor was named vice president for advancement in July 2007 and directs the advancement operations and oversees all alumni, alumnae and parent relations, development, and advancement services. As Chief of Staff in the Office of the President and Secretary to the Board of Trustees, he was instrumental in the HWS 2005 and HWS 2010 strategic planning initiatives and a chief organizer for Campaign for the Colleges, a $200 million fundraising effort. After graduating from Gettysburg College with a degree in political science, he earned a master's in sports administration at Michigan State University.

Phone: 781-3535
Office: Alumni House, 2nd Floor

Peter Polinak

Vice President for Finance

Polinak has served as Treasurer since October 2002 and previously worked as Budget Director at HWS and as Assistant Vice President for Finance at Via Health in Newark, N.Y. Polinak has a B.S. in Business Administration from Bloomsburg University and an M.B.A. from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

Phone: 781-3337
Office: Coxe Hall, 2nd Floor

Titilayo Ufomata

Provost and Dean of Faculty

Dr. Titilayo Ufomata was appointed Provost and Dean of Faculty of Hobart and William Smith Colleges beginning July 1, 2012. Formerly the Associate Provost and Interim Director of Graduate Studies at Kentucky State University, Ufomata's career spans three decades of scholarship in Linguistics, Africana and Gender Studies as well as an increasingly complex portfolio of administrative duties.

Born in Nigeria where she received bachelor's and master's degrees in English, Ufomata attended University College London where she earned a second master's degree as well as a Ph.D. in Phonetics.

Ufomata is an alumna of Harvard University's Institute for Educational Management, Hampton University's Executive Leadership Summit, and Bryn Mawr's HERS (Higher Education Resource Services) program designed to advance women leaders in higher education administration.

Phone: 781-3423
Office: Coxe Hall, 2nd Floor

Cathy Williams

Vice President for Communications

Williams was named director of communications in June 2007, overseeing the media relations and publications programs, including admissions and development publications, the alumni/ae magazine, sports information and the website. She has worked with the Colleges in several capacities since 2001, including as a senior editor for advancement and editor of The Pulteney Street Survey. She holds a bachelor of arts in English and religion and a master of arts in English literature from Syracuse University.

Phone: 781-3540
Office: Durfee House, 1st Floor