Loading

ECO REPS

EcoRep Profiles 2015-2016

Ryan Densen, EcoRep Coordinator
Major: Economics
YOG: 2017
Email: ryan.densen@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I make sure that I take under 5 minute showers, recycle as much as I can, turn off the lights when ever I leave the room, and turn of the water whenever I brush my teeth.

Abby Dylag
Major: Geoscience
YOG: 2016
Email: abigayle.dylag@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: One day I want to own a solar powered car.

Alex LaMonte
Major:
YOG: 2017
Email: Alexandra.lamonte@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I love thrifting! Though I will admit that the bulk of my wardrobe is bought new, I often seize opportunities to buy used clothes for costumes and theme parties in order to reduce my contribution to things such as water pollution that results from factory runoff. I also maintain a vegan diet, which further helps me to reduce my environmental impact.

Alexis Yost
Major: English and Political Science
YOG: 2018
Email: alexis.yost@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I aspire to one day be able to take 3 minute showers. I think that it can definitely be done but it will definitely be hard to get used to doing everyday.

Allie Koch
Major: Environmental Studies
YOG: 2017
Email: Allison.kotch@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: My quirkiest sustainability habit is turning off the water while I am washing dishes and brushing my teeth. We spend all this time leaving the water on when we are brushing or scrubbing, and we only really need the water to rinse at the end.

Alta Markly
Major: Psychology
YOG: 2017
Email: alta.markley@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I never leave the water running. Whether it is when I wash dishes, brush my teeth, shower, or wash my face/hands, I will turn the faucet on as many times as necessary but I will never leave it on. I do this because I think it is a waste of water and energy to leave the water running when I am not using it.

Angelina Godderz
Major: Religious & Asian Studies
YOG: 2017
Email: angelina.godderz@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I rarely have the lights on in my house. Whenever my family members turn them on during the day, I tend to immediately turn them off. My bike is my only form of transportation during the summer and I enforce carpooling when an automobile is necessary.

Audrey Haener
Major: Media and Society
YOG: 2017
Email: Audrey.haener@hws.edu

Bobby Erickson
Major: Economics
YOG: 2017
Email: robert.erickson@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: One-piece trash is a habit that I developed while trekking in New Mexico. It entails ripping your plastic wrappers slightly keeping it as one piece of trash as opposed to ripping a whole corner off. This technique reduces the likelihood of direct or indirect littering.

Breezy Swete
Major: Environmental studies
YOG: 2018
Email: briana.swete@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I love giving fun reusable water bottles as gifts (especially if I notice that friend using plastic water bottles).

Chad Tokowicz
Major: Undeclared
YOG: 2018
Email: chad.tokowicz@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I rarely throw things away after they break. Before I buy new, I always seek to fix or repair the item.

Channel Whitney Campbell
Major: Undeclared
YOG: 2018
Email: Channel.campbell@gmail.com
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I am from the city so it's very convenient for me to pick up my bike and bike to my destination. In other words, since I was in middle school biking has been my primary source of transportation.

Charles Anderson
Major: Environmental Studies
YOG: 2018
Email: charles.anderson@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I am in the bathroom and someone is brushing their teeth with the water running, I go over to them and turn the water off without saying anything. I turn the lights off in my room when I leave, and I often refuse getting a plastic bag when I get groceries.

Charles Gaglione
Major: Philosophy
YOG: 2016
Email: Charles.gaglione@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I unplug my cables from the wall when I am not present because I am a huge nerd and I take quick showers.

Chelten Leggett
Major: Architectural Studies
YOG: 2018
Email: chelton.leggett@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: When I drive my mother's truck I take my foot off the gas on downwards slopes, gain speed, and cruise until slightly under the speed of traffic.

Christian Salemy
Major: Environmental Studies
YOG: 2017
Email: Christian.salemy@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I will sit in a room without the lights on unless they are absolutely needed to see.

Claire Tranchino
Major: English
YOG: 2018
Email: claire.tranchino@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: To save energy in my house, I wouldn’t turn the lights on until around 6pm, and even then, I would limit the amount of light.

Colin Marker
Major: Environmental Studies
YOG: 2018
Email: colin.marker@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: If I see people throwing away recyclables when there is a recycling bin near by, I will go out of my way to grab the recyclables, and put them in their proper bins.

Conner “CoCo” Clemens
Major: Undeclared
YOG: 2018
Email: conner.clemens@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I always turn off the water when brushing my teeth, doing the dishes, and I try to have very quick showers. I am the person that makes a point to let someone know what and what not to recycle. I also try to make sure to only have the right stuff go through the garbage disposal.

Dan Bristol
Major: Geoscience
YOG: 2018
Email: Daniel.bristol@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I am currently attempting to make my clothing choices more sustainable by shopping at second hand clothing stores.

David Roberts
Major: Environmental Studies
YOG: 2017
Email: David.Roberts@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I’m sure you have heard the expression if its yellow leave it mellow. I have been practicing this for several years now; of course, never in public restrooms.

Elizabeth Feingold
Major: Economics
YOG: 2018
Email: Elizabeth.feingold@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: Professor Tom Drennen powers one of his cars by charging it through energy he receives from solar panels on top of his garage. I hope one day to practice this sustainability habit if cars are still powered by gas by the time I own a house.

Elizabeth Knorr
Major: Biology and Environmental Studies
YOG: 2016
Email: Elizabeth.knorr@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I make sure that I recycle everything that is considered recyclable and I tell my housemates to do the same.

Elizabeth Oliver
Major: Undeclared
YOG: 2018
Email: Elizabeth.Oliver@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: When I'm out at restaurants or cafes particularly Wegmans, I always save recyclable food and beverage containers to bring home.

Elizabeth Govern
Major: Environmental Studies
YOG: 2017
Email: Elizabeth.govern@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I currently make it a point to shut off any dripping shower faucets or sinks in any buildings on campus. I also NEVER litter and make it a point to pick up any litter that I see around campus and relocate it to the nearest recycling or compost bin.

Elizabeth Herbst
Major: Undeclared
YOG: 2017
Email: Elizabeth.herbst@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I’m really into recycling and I will walk across the room or hold onto my recyclables until I pass a recycling can. I also am known to reach into garbage just to correct someone’s laziness or lack of care and take the recyclable or compostable item to put it in the correct bin.

Emily Smith
Major: Biochemistry and Global Health
YOG: 2018
Email: Emily.Smith@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I tend to carry recyclable waste around with me until I reach a recycling bin, which can be a long ways depending on where I am.

Erika Brown
Major: Environmental Studies
YOG: 2018
Email: Erika.Brown@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I try to eat more local food and less meat, rarely buy plastic bottles, and never buy water bottles. I make sure that everything that is recyclable gets recycled!

Felipe Pantle
Major: Philosophy
YOG: 2017
Email: felipe.pantle@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I turn off the lights in the room as soon as I leave. Sometimes I rather just stumble in the dark instead of turning on the light to save energy.

Frank Yang
Major: Undeclared
YOG: 2018
Email: yukun.yang@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I hope to reduce my meat intake during each meal, in order to reduce GHG emissions.

Hannah Wood
Major: Environmental Studies
YOG: 2018
Email: Hannah.wood@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I already turn the lights off every time I leave a room, I recycle in my dorm, and I hope to soon start composting in my dorm room!

Hedi Droste
Major: Undeclared
YOG: 2018
Email: hedi.droste@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I rarely have the lights on in my room during the day because I like natural light from windows. I also can’t help but turn the lights off when I leave a room.

Isa Akerfeldt-Howard
Major: Environmental Studies
YOG: 2018
Email: isa.akerfeldt-howard@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: Since I have come home from college there are not places to throw away my recyclables at every location I go. When this is the case and I have something that can be recycled but no place to properly dispose of it, I hang on to it until I get home that evening, and I throw it away in our recycling bin.

Jack Shannon
Major: Undeclared
YOG: 2018
Email: jack.shannon@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I turn the shower off while I shampoo my hair to reduce the amount of water I use.

Jackie Fisher
Major: Political Science and Environmental Studies
YOG: 2018
Email: Jacqueline.Fisher@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I go crazy about what food I consume. Organic, locally grown, I’m all about it. Of course I’m not perfect and will definitely indulge in Oreos from time to time, but I think if we do our best to make conscious consumption choices it’s okay to sometimes splurge.

Jane Dowling
Major: Political Science and Environmental Science
YOG: 2018
Email: jane.dowling@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: When we were sophomores in high school, my friends and I began a composting campaign to improve our high school’s sustainability. Ever since then it has simply become a habit to make sure everything I come in contact with that can be composted, actually is.

Joseph Sylvia
Major: Geoscience and Environmental Studies
YOG: 2016
Email: joseph.sylvia@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I make sure that I separate my waste at the end of all of my meals.

Jonathan Pusey
Major: Undeclared
YOG: 2018
Email: Jonathan.pusey@hws.edu

Kate Moreau
Major: Undeclared
YOG: 2018
Email: kate.moreau@hws.com
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: When I’m at the grocery store, or any store, and I forget my reusable bags, I shove all items into the minimum amount of bags possible. Even when cashiers tell me that I should not do that because things will get crushed, I am very persistent and do it anyway. My habit has rubbed off on some of my friends I shop with, and now they too practice my habit.

Katharine Sortino
Major: Biochemistry
YOG: 2017
Email: Katherine.sortino@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: At home I work at a dairy which sells milk in glass bottles. This is pretty uncommon today because most milk is sold in plastic containers. My family buys our milk in the glass bottles then after we are done we return the bottles back to the dairy where they wash and reuse them. This reduces the use of plastic and allows the bottles to be reused over and over.

Katrina Nunez
Major: Dance and MDSC
YOG: 2017
Email: katerina.nunez@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: When I shower, I have a "one song rule." I bring my phone into the shower and put it on shuffle. To preserve water I allow myself the length of one full song to take a shower.

Kayla Jones
Major: MDSC and Anthropology Sociology
YOG: 2017
Email: kayla.jones@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I have 7 reusable water bottles in my fridge at this moment

Kelly Mauch
Major: Environmental Studies and Public Policy
YOG: 2017
Email: Kelly.mauch@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: In my dorm bathroom last year, one sink faucet always dripped. Although it only dripped slightly, I always had to screw it on tighter when I walked by (even if I didn’t use that sink and it was 3 am).

Kerry Bartholomae
Major: Biology
YOG: 2018
Email: Kerry.bartholomae@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I am going to start saving more water by brushing my teeth in the shower!

Lacey Denning
Major: Psychology
YOG: 2017
Email: lacey.denning@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I think my quirkiest sustainability habit I have is yelling at my friends and family when they do not recycle. If I am at home and a see a bottle in the garbage I will take it out and through it in the recycling. Once at school a teacher put a piece of paper in the garbage and I stood up and moved it to the recycling can.

Liam Books
Major: Economics and Environmental Studies
YOG: 2017
Email: liam.brooks@hws.edu

Maggie Nalbone
Major: French and Francophone Studies and Anthropology/Sociology Double Major
YOG: 2017
Email: Maggie.Nalbone@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I don’t use the AC in my car, so I just leave the windows open to cool it down.

Marion Marsh
Major: Environmental Studies and Asian Studies
YOG: 2017
Email: Marion.Marsh@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I listen to music in the shower to better time myself on how long the shower takes. I make it my job to turn off any sinks dripping or running without purpose. Saving water is a top priority to me.

Mary Catherine Kowalsky
Major: Undeclared
YOG: 2018
Email: Mary.Kowalsky@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I am always really quick to turn out the lights when I leave a room, except when there are people still in there.

Matt Skinner
Major: Physics and my own major pertaining to environmental studies, public policy, and philosophy.
YOG: 2017
Email: matthew.skinner@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I like the page “The Mind Unleashed” on Facebook, and they once posted something about how much society could change if we started growing gardens instead of grass. I truly believe in this. People could become more self-reliant and less dependent on large and greedy corporations

Matthew Haner
Major: Environmental Studies
YOG: 2017
Email: matthew.haner@hws.edu

Max Jones
Major: Undeclared
YOG: 2018
Email: mj0208@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: Before I leave the room I always check twice to make sure the faucet that I used is not leaking.

Meghan Moore
Major: Undeclared
YOG: 2018
Email: meghan.moore@hws.edu

Micah Lynch
Major: Architecture and Studio Art
YOG: 2018
Email: Micah.Lynch@hws.edu

Michael Russo
Major: Economics
YOG: 2017
Email: Michael.Russo@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I have been on the Paleo diet since march 20th and currently still going strong. I also don’t use plastic to the extent I can.

Micheal Hanson
Major: Environmental Studies and History
YOG: 2016
Email: Michael.Handson@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I make an effort to never leave my care idle and I encourage my friends to do the same. If you're getting out of your car for more than 30 seconds, I believe that it is important to just turn your car off

Morgan Gaudet
Major: Undeclared
YOG: 2018
Email: Morgan.Gaudet@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I really want to try composting. Living in the city of Chicago this practice is very hard to convince my parents of try. They worry about rats (which do live in my back alley) and also squirrels getting into the compost box.

Natalie Bishop
Major: Undeclared
YOG: 2018
Email: Natalie.bishop@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: If I see a piece of trash or something that can be recycled on the ground I pick it up and carry it until I find an appropriate bin. I also generally take things that people put in a trash bin and put it in a recycling bin.

Natalie Booth
Major: Undeclared
YOG: 2018
Email: Natalie.booth@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I never use plastic straws because they take 7 years to decompose in a landfill and I pack my lunches in mason jars or tupperware.

Noelle Nichols
Major: Environmental Studies and Economics
YOG: 2018
Email: Noelle.nichols@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I always find myself carrying around a reusable water bottle. It drives me crazy to see people recycling and sometimes even THROWING THEM AWAY (i.e. disposable water bottles) when the solution is so simple. Being that convenience is a large component of this issue. I carry around my reusable water bottle allowing the sustainable option to be the cheapest and most convenient option.

Pascale Grossnickle
Major: Environmental Studies and Geoscience
YOG: 2016
Email: Pascale.Grossnickle@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: As the director of a summer camp, I am dedicating a week of the camp to teach the campers about various ways to be more sustainable.

Raven Yujun
Major: Undeclared
YOG: 2018
Email: yujun.jiang@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I turn the lights off when I see them on in empty rooms. I turn off lights in laundry rooms, common bathrooms, and elsewhere around campus.

Raymond Ma
Major: Undeclared
YOG: 2017
Email: Raymond.ma@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I really hate for plastic milk jugs to be thrown into the landfills, so I always wash them out and recycle them in my neighborhood local recycling program.

Sara Volo
Major: Biology
YOG: 2017
Email: Sara.volvo@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: We have a compost area in our backyard at home! My mom won’t let me throw away food. Also, this isn’t my habit but my dad rides around on his bicycle and collects plastic bottles to return. He’s made a killing recycling what other people won’t.

Sarah Bower
Major: Geoscience and Environmental Studies
YOG: 2016
Email: sarah.bower@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I would like to start taking reusable bags to stores with me instead of using plastic bags!!!

Sarah Hogg
Major: Economics and Asian Studies
YOG: 2016
Email: Sarah.hogg@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: Since I will be living off campus this upcoming year, one of my goals is to mainly purchase food that is local and in season for my house. So much food is imported from other places especially during the winter months and this has a big impact on the environment. Therefore, I hope to always be conscious when shopping at Wegman's in order to help do my part to live sustainably.

Sarah Kloos
Major: Undeclared
YOG: 2018
Email: Sarah.Kloos@hws.edu

Sarah Warren
Major: Environmental Studies and Spanish
YOG: 2018
Email: sarah.warren@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I try to spend as little time as possible in my room with the lights on during the day, to reduce my electricity use, and utilize the natural light in the room.

Shivam Tewari
Major: Biochemistry, Physics, and Environmental Studies
YOG: 2018
Email: Shivam.Tewari@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I always cut the plastic rings that hold soda cans together so that if the rings aren't properly disposed of, no birds or other animals can get stuck in them. I've heard horror stories about seals injuring themselves due to these.

Stef Schmitz
Major: Biochemestry
YOG: 2018
Email: Stefani.Schmitz@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: It really bothers me when I see waste in the water while scuba diving or swimming, so I always pick it up!

Stephen Vanhoesen
Major: Geoscience
YOG: 2018
Email: Stephen.vanhoesen@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I pick up garbage wherever I go. Whether it’s on hikes, camping, or fishing I collect as much as possible. I’ve spent whole days “fishing” pulling garbage out of the river instead. I also work for my highway department in the summer mowing and weed whacking. I wind up pulling garbage out of ditches, holding ponds, off grass, and parking lots.

Taylor Gorycki
Major: Undeclared
YOG: 2018
Email: taylor.gorycki@hws.edu

Theo Frelinghuysen
Major: Public Policy
YOG: 2017
Email: Theodore.frelinghuysen@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: A sustainability habit that I have is a small one and is not saving the planet by any means, but it's just making sure the lights are all off every time I leave a room.

Zach Byczko
Major: Economics
YOG: 2017
Email: Zahary.Byczko@Hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I take less then a 5 min shower!

Zarvan Shah-Asif
Major: Economics and Environmental Studies
YOG: 2018
Email: zarvan.shah-asif@hws.edu
QUIRKY ECOHABIT: I make sure to never buy disposable water bottles.

Contact

If you have any questions or comments about sustainability initiatives at HWS please feel free to contact us at sustainability@hws.edu or (315) 781-4380.