Commission on Inclusive Excellence

In February 2007, Colleges President Mark D. Gearan convened a group of students, staff and faculty to consider ways to advance a more inclusive community at Hobart and William Smith.

The group, known as the Commission on Inclusive Excellence, works to create a strategic plan that will help Hobart and William Smith build and strengthen a campus community of inclusive excellence. 

In order to realize a community of inclusive excellence, the Commission works toward several goals, which are linked to one another as structural building blocks and are realized through a set of initiatives.



Reverend Lesley Adams, Chaplain
Eugen Baer, Dean of Hobart College
Sandy Bissell, Director of Human Resources
Robb Flowers, Vice President for Student Affairs
Mark D. Gearan, President
Karen Goulet, William Smith Dean's Office
Lisa Kaenzig, Associate Dean of William Smith College
David Mapstone, Assistant Dean of Hobart College
Alejandra Molina, Director of Intercultural Affairs
Susan Pliner, Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning
Cathy Williams, Director of Communications